Billy. Chapter 4

Just then Eddie’s cell phone began its tinny Riff Raff ringtone, and he only realised it after everyone was looking at him. Eddie answered the phone without saying hello, still in a trance as if waiting to hear more out of Sherry. It was so quiet in the room that everyone could hear Eddie’s mother, “Hello? Eddie? Eddie, you need to come home for dinner right away! Eddie?” As if out of habit, Eddie said, “Okay Mom, be right there.” He ended the call, put the phone back in his pocket, looked back at Sherry, and waited. Sherry realised that she shouldn’t have said anything in front of Eddie and said, “And…then I woke up. Yea, uh…it was just a dream. Ha!” She focused on him to see if he was buying the cover up, but Eddie looked like a kid waiting for ice cream. After a short stand-off, Ms. Watson finally said, “Eddie, aren’t you leaving?” Billy said, “See ya later my friend!” Eddie said nothing, looked at Billy, then back at Sherry, then back at Billy, and ran down the stairs and out of the house.

Sherry became frantic, “Mom! We’ve got to go!” Ms. Watson sat up, then stood up, and said, “Sherry! Come on! Tell me what’s going on!” Grandpa said, “Wow, this is getting interesting, but can we go back downstairs now?” They all looked at each other, and since no one had an objection, they headed downstairs. Sherry ran into Billy’s room first, and after a few seconds met the others in the living room. They were sitting, but no one reached for the remote. Sherry found her Mom on the couch next to Grandpa, “Mom, if we don’t go now, Eddie will tell his Mom about Billy, and she’ll come back here with the cops, and oh my God, we need to go!”

Ms. Watson looked at Billy as if she had forgotten his age had been altered, and was horrified, “Billy!”

“Mom! The hole! We found a hole to another place,” Billy said excitedly, and stood up. “Time is different there, Mom, I’ve been there for fifty years!”

Ms. Watson stood up, “Fifty years? I saw you this morning!”

Sherry broke in, screaming at Billy, “Fifty years Billy? I told you not to go without me! What the hell did you stay that long for?” She looked at her Mom, “Mom. That hole! That hole opened up and Dad was there! He grabbed my legs and pulled me in! And he was there Mom, in that fucked up land! And we went back a few times, Billy and I, to visit him, but then one day he was gone, Mom! And we couldn’t stay there looking for him Mom, because you’d notice. Everyone would notice.”

“What do you mean, notice, Sherry? And your father was there, Sherry, your father?” Ms. Watson looked confused. Sherry’s glance at Billy answered half the question, “Mom, yes Dad was there, and he told us not to tell you, and he told us the math of it, and I’ve tested it to see he was right. Every ten years there is an about an hour here. And so when I’d go there for a few days, I’d come back and check the clock. It was still the same day here, and only seconds had gone by. So we, Billy and I, were able to go and come back unnoticed. Sometimes we’d go for weeks, but we aged there, Mom. And if we kept it up,” Sherry paused and looked at Billy, “Fifty years Billy? A daughter? Oh my God! Mom!”

Just then the doorbell rang.

Published by

Wally

I read your work because it shows me how great humans can be, and that gives me hope.

One thought on “Billy. Chapter 4”

Leave a Reply

